Now that iOS 11 is eventually here, iPhone owners are upgrading for new features like screen recording, a one-handed keyboard, and a means to finally prevent appmakers like Uber from following their every move.

The controversial ride hailing service first announces that it would stop tracking riders after routes ended back in August, but the new policy didn’t genuinely take effect until Apple’s latest OS was pushed out to users on Sept. 19.

Apple made a significant change to the style developers can use location services in iOS 11: Devs will no longer be able to give customers the binary selection between making apps granted permission to “Always” or “Never” track user place when they’re not using the app. Uber, which introduced the all-or-nothing option last fall, has been forced to fall in line in order to keep its app on iPhones everywhere.

Uber’s latest software update includes language that explains the new locating services policy.

The new version of the app commits all iOS consumers who install it more control over place sharing, even if they’re not among the almost 15 percent who have already induced the jump-start to iOS 11. An Uber spokesperson told Mashable in August that the company would work to bring expanded locating sharing options to the Android version of the app, too — but the latest version of the app on the Google Play store makes no mention of updated information.

Using Uber is now less intrusive — but for some, Apple forcing its hand induces the tracking concession a lawsuit of too little, too late. Ride hailers gain some privacy, but likely shouldn’t thank Uber for finally backing out of their business.

Read more: http :// 2017/09/ 21/ ios-1 1-uber-location-tracking /